Beauty Review – New Products and New Discoveries

It’s time for another round of reviewing new beauty and skincare products! I’ve been testing out these items for a while, and I have some thoughts to share. As always, the products I use are budget-friendly drugstore items, and tend to be for sensitive skin (normal to dry). Some of these products have recently launched, while others are new to me. Most brands should be available internationally.

Brands featured include: Fleur de Force, NYX, L’Oreal, The Ordinary, e.l.f., Dove


Fleur de Force Brow Define Pencil by Eylure – in dark

DSCN2221

I’ve struggled to find a brow product that works for me. I have very dark hair and full brows, so I only really need to fill them in a bit. I’ve used the Rimmel eyebrow pencil in the past (see post here) and it’s okay, but the point always goes blunt and the colour wasn’t a perfect match. I’ve wanted to try some of the popular brow pencils like the Anastasia one and the Benefit ones, but they’re just too pricy. So, when Fleur launched her range of brow pencils in August I thought I’d give it a go for. Available for £12 at Boots.

Pros:

  • Great quality for the price point
  • Mechanical pencil with a precise tip
  • Double-ended in light and dark shades. I mix it up and use the light shade on days when I wear minimal makeup and the dark when I want a bolder look
  • A good amount of product
  • Sturdy click to close lids

Cons:

  • The pencil tips get a bit “fluffy”
  • The white packaging gets smudgy

Will definitely be re-purchasing and highly recommend!


NYX Suède Matte Lip Liner – in shade Copenhagen

I’ve only used this pencil twice thus far, but I really like it. I’ve got Plum Plum Girl in the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet and I wanted a liner to put underneath it to prevent bleeding. This is a great autumnal colour; the price is good (£4), it was a close colour match, and it stays put. It’s drying, but most lip pencils are.

Would Recommend


Paradise Extatic Mascara by L’Oreal Paris – in black

To be honest, I really wanted to try the new Tanya Burr mascara but I couldn’t find it in my local Superdrug. So, I wandered around Boots and decided to try a new launch mascara that looked interesting. This one was in a “new in” display and it looked pretty. It also claimed to be very easy to apply because of the ultra-soft brush. It’s supposed to provide “intense volume and spectacular length” and that “lashes feel feather-soft; without flaking”. Price was £11.99.

DSCN2249

Pros:

  • Beautiful rose gold packaging
  • low smell
  • easy to remove in the evening
  • no flaking
  • I guess my lashes feel soft…?

Cons:

  • You only get 6.4ml. As a reference, my previous mascara, the L’Oreal Volume Million Feline (see review here), is 9.2ml.
  • Although my lashes are volumised, they look a bit clumpy and aren’t long enough for my style
  • The brush is chunky and bristly. I normally go for smaller pointed wands to allow for precision application. I took a gamble on this one, but I don’t like the applicator – it’s too big to get into the corner of my eyes.
  • Drying out already and I’ve only had it a couple of weeks

Wouldn’t Recommend


Fashion Base Silicone Foundation Applicator (Dupe for Silisponge)

DSCN2246

I tried using both sides and it just didn’t work…

I ordered this sponge off Amazon for a whole £1.49 with free delivery and waited a few weeks for it to come from China. I know it’s a knock-off for the Silisponge, but I figured I’d give it a go. I’m not even going to bother with a pros and cons list. I’ve used this twice and it just smeared my foundation all over my face and never set and was a patchy application. I tried the sponge with two different foundations and it is just the worst.

On a positive note, I’ve re-purchased my Real Techniques sponges (my old one got mold spots from lack of use). I’ve also been using my Real Techniques brush to apply foundation and I really like the different finish it gives. So win for sponge blender and brush, and lose to silicone.


e.l.f. Makeup Mist & Set – clear

DSCN2219

I decided to give another setting spray a try since the L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist that I have leaves flecks on my face and clothes (it’s matte and has a white chalky substance in it).

I wanted a cheap, clear spray to test out and this one does the job! I’m sure it’s not the best option out there, but it’s good if you’re not wanting to spent a lot. Available in the UK at Superdrug and on Amazon.

Would recommend as a budget option


The Ordinary 100% Plant-Derived Squalane

There is so much hype in the blogging beauty world about The Ordinary products that I just had to test something! The ethos or USP of The Ordinary is to provide “integrity” in skincare. Essentially, they offer the base active ingredient in a skincare product packaged simply, and sold at an affordable price. I’ve heard good things about their retinoids, but my skin is happy at the moment and retinol can aggravate sensitive skin. I decided to give the Squalane a try instead. It’s a hydrator that I apply to my face before bed.

DSCN2257

Pros:

  • Inexpensive
  • Nice, simple packaging
  • No harsh scent
  • Gentle on sensitive skin
  • Moisturising

Cons:

  • Takes a long time to sink in so I can’t use it as a primer
  • A bit meh. I don’t feel it is overwhelmingly doing anything

I recommend, but I want to try one of the low percent retinols, an antioxidant, or something from the Vitamin C range next. Available on Asos in the UK (£5.50).


Dove Shower Foam – pampering pistachio

DSCN2255

I’m such a sucker for advertising. I saw an ad for this new shower foam from Dove and thought I simply must have it!

You know what, this stuff is lovely. It smells beautifully of pistachios and is very moisturising, and doesn’t irritate my skin. I thought it would get used up quickly but I’ve had it over a month and there is still half a bottle left. It was £2.99 at Boots.

 

 

That’s all for now. I hope everyone has a Happy Halloween and I’ll be back next week with Halloween cookies!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Beauty Review – New Products and New Discoveries

Leave a comment