Coconut Granola

This morning I had a serious craving for my homemade coconut granola, but sadly there was none about. I’m planning on making a batch this afternoon and I realized that I’ve never shared the recipe with you guys, so here you go! I like this recipe because it’s so customizable and doesn’t have a load of added sugar like store-bought kinds. If you try it out, let me know how it goes because I’m always wanting to try new variations.

P.S. Wishing all you Canadians a very happy Canada Day! To celebrate, I shall make this weekend’s batch with maple syrup.

DSCN1599

Ingredients:

2 cups oats
1/2 cup desiccated coconut
1/2 cup mixed seeds and nuts
[I’ve used pecans, mixed nuts, almonds, and mixed seeds in the past]
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 cup sultanas or other dried fruit
dash salt
1 tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla
1/6 cup liquid coconut oil
1/6 cup honey (or maple syrup/ agave)

Instructions:

Combine dry ingredients on baking sheet and mix in wet ingredients.

Bake at 150C 35-40 min., tossing halfway through.

Once cool, store in a sealed container – I use a Kilner jar (available here).

Spoon onto yoghurt (I’ve been having it with Alpro coconut soya yoghurt) or you can have it with milk. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Coconut Granola

  1. frances taylor says:

    Perfect timing, Katherine. We had some delicious granola in Germany and we’ve been thinking of making our own (emphasis on thinking!) Now we have a recipe so no excuses!

    Sorry to have missed your trip,to Vancouver with Lucy. Sounds as if it all went really well.

    Happy Canada Day!
    Fran

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

